Board of Trustees

The seven board members are elected at-large to three-year terms. They serve on a volunteer basis, devoting many hours to overseeing the management of the district.

Board policy

The legal and local policies that govern the district may be found in the Board Policy Online system.

Board Policy Online

If you have a question about a board policy, contact the General Counsel.

Board Operating Procedures

Board committee and organization appointments

Internet Posting Requirements for Political Subdivisions

Board elections

Learn about upcoming board elections, including filing dates, expiring positions and trustee eligibility.

One goal, one focus

The Board of Trustees and Superintendent Dr. López have established and defined district academic targets with a strategic goal and specific objectives to guide student achievement through the 2024-25 school year. Visit the Strategic Goal page to learn more.

Contacting the board

To provide input to board members, you may send an email to the board clerk for forwarding, use to notify all Trustees or click on their photo below to find an individual Trustee email address. Comments may also be mailed to:

Name of Trustee, c/o Board of Trustees
Garland Independent School District
P.O. Box 469026
Garland, TX 75046-9026

See the board meetings page for details about speaking directly to the Trustees during a meeting.

Jamie Miller
President  |  Place 5
Wes Johnson
Vice President  |  Place 7
Linda Griffin
Secretary  |  Place 3
Robert Selders
Assistant Secretary  |  Place 6
Larry Glick
Trustee  |  Place 1
Johnny Beach
Trustee  |  Place 2
Daphne Stanley
Trustee  |  Place 4